All Categories:
People Saved
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Go Back   MyCoupons.com Shopping Boards > My ShoppingBoards Community > The Cafe - 'TC'
 


The Cafe - 'TC' So? Your daughter wants her belly pierced? Your cat keeps using the couch as a litter box? Your husband taped the Hockey game over your wedding video? Your neighbor has a gnome collection and it makes you mad? Pour yourself a cup of coffee and come on in to The Café! Talk amongst yourselves...discuss, question, reply, or respond to many subjects!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-06-2007, 10:39 PM
plates's Avatar
Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 301
Is this a scam of some sort? Email sent to me...

It had no attachments nothing but the email below. I don't know the person at all. Doesn't sound like a person from another country. Is this some sort of scam going around that I haven't heard of? I received it today.

"Good Day,

My name is Mrs. (deleted) I am a dying woman who have
decided to donate what I have to you/Organization. I am 59 years old
and I was diagnosed for cancer about 2 years ago,immediately after the
death of my husband, who had left me everything he worked for.

I have been touched by God to donate from what I have inherited from
my late husband to you for the good work of God than allow my
relatives to use my husband hard earned funds ungodly.

Please pray that the good Lord forgive me my sins. I have asked God
to forgive me and I believe he has because He is a merciful God."
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-06-2007, 10:41 PM
plates's Avatar
Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 301
Oh and the organization could be from an organization that I have been involved with for the past 2 years. I am not an organization nor "have" an organization.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2007, 12:43 AM
ambytes's Avatar
Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Rowlett, TX.
Posts: 2,197
I think its a scam, but wait and see. If they ask for any money of any kind its a scam. In order to inherit you do not have to pay any money. There are scams like this were they tell you that they need you to pay lawyer fees in order to process everything. This is not true! So my wait and don't get your hopes up and don't go spending money just think this is coming and see what happens. Also never give your SS# unless you know for a fact you are talking to a lawyer. Check things out!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2007, 01:41 AM
plates's Avatar
Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 301
It would seem more real to me if I knew the person. But I have no idea. Heck I have a bad memory and have met tons of people over the past 2 years. The email address looks legit--not a throwaway yahoo or hotmail email addy nor any of the scam email addresses. Oh well guess I will wait and see.

I am thinking not to respond. The woman didn't ask for anything in the email. I don't know. I guess it could be a phishing one. I will go check on that site that lists the different spoofs if I can think of the name. I will google it.

What really makes me think is she didn't use my name at all. So I don't think it is real.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2007, 01:48 AM
plates's Avatar
Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 301
The closest one that I could find was the one below from www.snopes.com:

My name is Becky J. Harding, I am a senior partner in the firm of Midland Consulting Limited: Private Investigators and Security Consultants. We are conducting a standard process investigation on behalf of HSBC, the International Banking Conglomerate.

This investigation involves a client who shares the same surname with you and also the circumstances surrounding investments made by this client at HSBC Republic, the Private Banking arm of HSBC. The HSBC Private Banking client died in testate and nominated no successor in title over the investments made with the bank. The essence of this communication with you is to request you provide us information/comments on any or all of the four issues:

1-Are you aware of any relative/relation who shares your same name whose last known contact address was Brussels Belgium?

2-Are you aware of any investment of considerable value made by such a person at the Private Banking Division of HSBC Bank PLC?

3-Born on the 1st of october 1941

4-Can you establish beyond reasonable doubt your eligibility to assume status of successor in title to the deceased?

It is pertinent that you inform us ASAP whether or not you are familiar with this personality that we may put an end to this communication with you and our inquiries surrounding this personality.

You must appreciate that we are constrained from providing you with more detailed information at this point. Please respond to this mail as soon as possible to afford us the opportunity to close this investigation.

Thank you for accommodating our enquiry.

Becky J. Harding.
For: Midland Consulting Limited.
09/02/2004
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2007, 01:54 AM
plates's Avatar
Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 301
Seems I didn't get the entire email...I googled her name and came up with two sites which show it is a scam:

http://www.antispam.de/forum/showthread.php?t=11810



http://www.visordown.com/forums/showthread.php?t=281077
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2007, 03:44 AM
Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Brook Park, OH
Posts: 2,232
Do not even bother checking the Urban Legends website ( http://www.snoes.com ) because this email is a scam.

+

You do not know this person and this person does not know you, it's a sort of 'cold call,' sent to a large number of email addresses.

+

There are so many red flags it is not even funny.

#1) The salutation is not to you.

#2) They give you a sob story that involves money.

#3) They many not be asking for money now, but after gaining your confidence, they will be asking for your bank account - to raid it.

#4) Do you really think that someone wants to give you money? out of the blue?

+

Do not reply because you will immediately have your email address added to a sucker list that will generate more spam.

They send this email out to many people and sit back and wait to see who replies so that they can narrow their scam down, to the gullible.

Drug dealers have a similar method, drugs given away at first and then they wait to see who comes back for more, then charging for the drugs that they are now hooked on.

+

Just remember ...

"There is a sucker born every minute."

+

Terence in Brook Park, OH
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2007, 07:21 AM
hoLLyLew's Avatar
Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 609
Do not respond. It is a form of "phishing". Periodically, I receive letters similar to this in nature.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2007, 07:36 AM
Suz's Avatar
Suz Suz is offline
Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Burnin up in FL
Posts: 2,342
If it walks like a duck, and looks like a duck......its SPAM!

__________________
This space for rent
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2007, 09:47 AM
Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,372
TerryTerrific is completely right. This type of spam is SO common that we delete several dozen a night at work.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2007, 10:41 AM
LuvMy2GirlyGirls's Avatar
Lifetime Member - Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Guess Where!
Posts: 2,144
A quick google search matches this as a scam:

http://www.internet-fraud.com/fraudf...mID12/12.html#
__________________
If you really want something in this life, you have to work for it. Now, quiet! The're about to announce the lottery numbers... - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2007, 08:37 PM
danilynn71's Avatar
Lifetime Member - Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 874
It is also very obvious that this email was designed through some sort of language translation website. The subject verb agreement is all off, and the wording is very awkward.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 03-08-2007, 05:26 AM
Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,583
I got one like this but it was a little longer.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 03-08-2007, 09:46 AM
maranatha4's Avatar
Lifetime Member - Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 68
This is a scam. I have been receiving 1 or 2 a day for about a week. Several of them are titled
"Gods time is the best time." They have different words but basically the same message.
There was a program on Dateline about this type of scam. I believe they called it the "Nigerian Scam."
Mara
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:48 PM.



Ad Management by RedTyger