All Categories:
People Saved
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Go Back   MyCoupons.com Shopping Boards > My ShoppingBoards Community > The Cafe - 'TC'
 


The Cafe - 'TC' So? Your daughter wants her belly pierced? Your cat keeps using the couch as a litter box? Your husband taped the Hockey game over your wedding video? Your neighbor has a gnome collection and it makes you mad? Pour yourself a cup of coffee and come on in to The Café! Talk amongst yourselves...discuss, question, reply, or respond to many subjects!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2008, 01:08 PM
Josieann's Avatar
Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: GA
Posts: 1,255
Do you buy things off "no-name" websites?

I found some DVD's that are $30 Cheaper off of hotmoviesale.com . The fact that it is not a name that I know..... I am iffy on spending the $50 for the set.

What recourse might I have? Do you have any experience on unpopular websites?


TIA Josie
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2008, 01:30 PM
jujubee2's Avatar
Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,154
If I do, I google around to see if I can find positive reviews about it first. If you google hotmoviesale.com, you'll see that some people complain about having to "join" them for x amount of $ before they send the DVD.

For example:
HotMovieSale - Reviews & Ratings from Customers - Smarter.com

I can't find anyone who says anything positive.

Here's what one person said:
I would like to caution people that by buying from this company, they are agreeing to a monthly membership fee of $14.95. If you order your movie in a hurry and do not notice what you are agreeing to, they will start billing your credit card and you will have a hard time getting the charges reversed. Also, from reading other reviews, it seems they don't even ship movies. They just cancel your order, and then start charging you monthly fees. Beware!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2008, 01:30 PM
Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 2,581
be careful, that is one of the sites that charges you for a monthly 'subscription' to be a 'member'
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2008, 01:57 PM
Josieann's Avatar
Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: GA
Posts: 1,255
THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I never thought of googling a site
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2008, 04:07 PM
annadrose's Avatar
Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Eugene OR
Posts: 5,868
I always google it if I have not heard of it but I mostly stick with sites I know and mostly with big name well known sites.
For electronics you can't beat newegg.com

DVDs overstock.com or amazon.com
__________________
The political system is broke and it's a joke.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2008, 06:47 PM
Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,372
I look up who the site belongs to, too, to see if it sounds dodgy. I typically use whois.sc for that.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2008, 07:24 PM
dalmatiank's Avatar
Lifetime Member - Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Southern, CA
Posts: 1,324
I would be iffy. i had 2 credit card numbers stolen in the past year
__________________
-Kristi
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-24-2008, 07:15 AM
mudpuppy's Avatar
Lifetime Member - Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 443
I also look sites up that Im not familiar with on Google. The other thing I have done is open a Paypal account and I pay with a one time use mastercard number. So if it gets stolen they can't drain your account since the number is only good for one transaction.

I have been using that more and more on sites I frequent too. Too much theft out there. Have you tried Ebay for your DVDs? I get some great deals from there. Good Luck
__________________
Mudpuppy

_____________________

Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass - it's about learning to dance in the rain
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:59 AM.



Ad Management by RedTyger